Fog hat

We don’t see fog often in Montreal. Not like the UK where it is an almost daily occurrence! (I’m English, I can say that. You’re not, so you can’t!). So being a phenomenon that is rare, it makes for an interesting ride in to work. Figures suddenly appear in front of you where seconds before there was nothing. The tops of the trees are invisible to the eye and there is a mist that shrouds the surface of the lake. It is beautiful.

20110520-223914.jpg

It is also humid. Very humid in fact, and by the time I am at the half way point my back is soaking wet against the weight of my back pack and I can see that the hairs on my arms are matted as if it was raining on them. Except it’s not.

20110520-224400.jpg

The Mercier bridge cuts an especially dramatic image standing out of the mist. I wish we had more mornings like this one. Sublime.

4 Comments

Filed under Cycling

4 responses to “Fog hat

  1. Brian

    Hey Joe, I am English and living here I am here to tell you fog is actually very rare in England 🙂 . I dont recall any fog at all for at least a year and probably more. When we do get it, it might only be for a few hours and is usually more of a mist in early spring and autumn (fall) that comes up off lakes and rivers that clears as soon as the sun gets up. We used to get a lot of fog about 50 years ago before all the anti pollution rulings came in to effect along with everywhere being declared smokeless zones.
    While I am it will also dispel the myth about the fact that it rains every day 🙂 This year I dont think we have any decent rain for at least a couple of months now and farmers are complaining about how dry the land is.

    • Brian

      Oooops Sorry, James not Joe.. !!!

    • Hey Brian – I fight to dispel that “rain all the time” in England myth as well. Re: the fog, I guess it has been too long since I’ve lived in the UK. I moved to Montreal in 1990 and have only been back every 18 months o so for holidays to see friends and family. I think I am holding onto the memory of waking up early at my parent’s place in West Sussex and seeing a low mist hanging over the fields. This was there on many mornings in the autumn and winter, and I suppose over the years it has morphed into a larger memory where I think of it as fog. It was beautiful though…..mist hanging low over the ploughed fields that surrounded the house.

  2. My understanding from reading the hilarious travel author Bill Bryson is this: London used to have a lot of fog in the Victorian Era because the air was incredibly polluted by coal fires. The particulates managed to combine with air moisture and viola!

    Once London cleaned up its air pollution, the fog began to dissipate. But reputations built by Sherlock Holmes, Charles Dickens, et al are hard to change.

Leave a Reply

