Roadie

Bloody gorgeous day today.  A little on the cold side but not a cloud in the sky and almost no wind.  The only thing for it was to get out on the VR2 for the first time this season.

VR2 on maiden voyage of 2011

I decided to film a lot of the ride on my Flip and the footage will feature in a short later on this week, if I ever find the time to do it.  Of course I’m missing the last third of the ride as my battery went dead on me.  I also had the Nikon with me in my new trusty over-one-shoulder back pack (which the guy in the store had to show me how to put on as I was having a serious ‘dumb’ moment and couldn’t work it out…..really) and was happily clicking away with that as well until, yup, battery died on that as well.

So guess what.  We’re getting 10 cm of snow tomorrow.  Yeah, that’s right.  It’s not enough that we’ve already lived through 3 1/2 months of cold ice and snow, we finally get some nice weather, we’re teased with dry roads and ever clearing bike paths, and then BHAM! we’re getting more snow.

Campy 10-Speed at your service

We’ll see what actually happens in the morning, although I shudder at the thought of seeing the sky filled with angry vicious looking snow flakes once again.  The only up side of a snow storm this late in the season is that it rarely stays on the ground for more than a couple of days.  I’m planning on working from home tomorrow but hoping to be commuting on two wheels again by Tuesday.

Don’t screw with my plans snow!

2 Comments

Filed under Cycling

2 responses to “Roadie

  1. That is an immaculately clean drive chain. Looking forward to the video.

    • Yeah well, first ride of the season right? Although I am a little maniacle about keeping it clean. You should see the fixie though, already all gummed up from the one commute last week!

Leave a Reply

