Happy Birthday Soph

Today is my sister’s 37th birthday.

I can’t call her.  I can’t send her a card.  I can’t even send her an email.  Where she is she cannot get them.  What I can do is talk to her, not in the way you and I talk to one another, but I can talk to her nonetheless.  So today I wished her Happy Birthday, out loud, while sitting in my office.  I hope she heard me.

Today will always be her birthday.  No-one can take that away from her or from me.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Cat Stevens lately.  I wanted to share this particular song with you.

Oh very young
What will you leave us this time?
You’re only dancing on this earth for a short while
And though your dreams may toss and turn you now
They will vanish away like your daddys best jeans
Denim Blue fading up to the sky
And though you want him to last forever
You know he never will
(You know he never will )
And the patches make the goodbye harder still

Oh very young
What will you leave us this time?
There’ll never be a better chance to change your mind
And if you want this world to see a better day
Will you carry the words of love with you?
Will you ride the great white bird into heaven?
And though you want to last forever
You know you never will
(You know you never will )
And the goodbye makes the journey harder still

Oh very young
What will you leave us this time?
You’re only dancing on this earth for a short while
Oh very young
What will you leave us this time?

You can listen to the song here.

I don’t think of you every day, Soph, but I am thinking of you all day today.  When I look at Emma and Ollie playing beautifully one minute and arguing the next, I see you and me.  I know we lived thousands of miles apart for many years, but I will always have a little sister, you.  I miss you.

Your bro.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

